InnerSound 2012

Click here to edit subtitle


Vega & de Vrees - Percussion Works

Posted by innersound on August 16, 2014 at 5:50 AM

VORTEX | September 20th

9:30 p.m. | InSpayer

Percussion & Computer


Henry Vega, computer & Bart de Vrees, percussions (Holland)

Works by: 


Henry Vega (*1973): Light Code (from the Wormsongs cycle)

Henry Vega: Automata Angels

Henry Vega: Izumi 


Henry Vega

Bart de Vrees

Bart de  Vrees - composer and percussionist - studied from 1996 to 2001 percussion at the conservatory of amsterdam and from 2003 to 2007 composition at the same institute. He works with orchestras, ensembles, plays solo, chamber music and performs in theatre and dance productions. Bart wrote pieces for ensembles such as Asko/Schönberg, Nieuw Ensemble, Nederlands Blazers ensemble, Slagwerk den Haag, Collegium Novum Zürich, Adapter ensemble, Ensemble Caméléon, de ij-salon, Aurelia saxophone quartet, Utrecht stringquartet, Worldbrass and Soil ensemble. His music has been performed on festivals such as Holland Festival, November Music, Gaudeamus Festival, The AAA series of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and Innovations en Concert in Montreal Canada. He is member of Splendor, Monoták, ‘de koene ridders’ and ‘trio hoorcomfort’, he plays drums and electronics in the band ‘f* and...’. Bart is now working on new pieces for ‘de ij-salon’, nora mulder and blikvelrasppapiersnaarglas for 4 channel electronics. 

Henry Vega, born in New York City, is an active composer and performer of new music. His current interests lie within theatrical settings of his music in combination with video in the space of minimal aesthetics that cross simple harmonies over noisy counterpoints. Vega has been commissioned by ensembles such as the MAE, VocaalLab, Ensemble Integrales, the Ragazze String Quartet, the Roentgen Connection and vocalist Anat Spiegel. Many of his works have been composed for instruments combined with the computer as a live instrument creating new sounds for his compositions that fuse instrumental virtuosity with digital manipulations. His latest releases include ‘Wormsongs’ and 'Stream Machines' (2011 & 2013 -