InnerSound 2012

Click here to edit subtitle


Alexandru Murariu - composer

Posted by innersound on August 6, 2013 at 5:00 PM

Alexandru Ştefan Murariu was born on the 12th of May 1989 in Deva, a small city placed in the heart of Transilvania. Here, he studied violin until graduating the “Sigismund Toduţă” Music High school (2008). In this time, he discovered and developed an interest for composition. In 2008 he started studying composition with Prof. Adrian Pop at the “Gheorghe Dima” Music Academy from Cluj Napoca. Here, the rigorous stylistics school founded by Sigismund Toduţă and continued by his followers have left a serious mark on Alexandru Murariu’s ascent. In 2012 he graduated the “Gheorghe Dima” Music Academy and decided to continue his master’s degree in the same Institution. In present, he studies Composition with Prof. Adrian Pop, an outstanding personality in contemporary music. He also studies contemporary music notation with Cornel Ţăranu, one of the most prominent romanian composers and academics.

During his studies, Alexandru Ştefan Murariu took part in various Master Classes, conferences, and different manifestations with important composers like Alexander Mullenbach, Wolfram Wagner, Gabriel Iranyi (Germany), Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis (Italy),Karol Beffa, Costin Miereanu(France), Jan Ezendam(Holland), Edgar Alandia(Bolivia) and Amos Elkana(Israel).

In his recent past, Alexandru Murariu participated at several composition contests earning important national and international awards like the Grand Prize at the “Liviu Comes” Composition Contest and a Mention at the “Acht für Bruken” Contest (Köln) in 2012, the 2nd prize at the “Stefan Niculescu” Composition Contest, the 1st prize at the “Liviu Comes” Composition Contest and the 1st prize at the National Contemporary Analysis Contest in 2013. His work consists in chamber, orchestral and choir music, some of which are published and are regularly performed by several romanian soloists, choirs and ensembles from Romania, Germany and Scotland.


Categories: Composers